Who sells their crafts?

mrsmacgiver
Regent
Regent

Unread post

My MIL makes handmade jewelry as well as handmade paper crafts like cards, gift tags, etc.

I am not a jewelry person but I think if I saw these for sale, I'd be tempted. I've been looking into ways she could possibly sell her crafts but I'm brand new at this.

For a farmer's or artisans market, what would you consider a decent fee?

How/where do you sell your crafts?
MonarchMom
Princess Royal
Princess Royal

Unread post

A lot depends on your area and the income level. Good single-day craft shows in our area charge between $75 and $200 for a 10'x10' space. You supply all your own set up, they do promotion and advertising. To be successful you should average sales about 10x the show fee ($750 - $2000)

If you think you want to help her try this, get to know some crafters. Offer to help one at a show for a day to learn the routine. Figure out how to take credit cards (we use Square or inTuit with an ipad) and observe the display system other similar vendors use.

You can also start by selling at a local gift shop on consignment (they typically get 35 - 50% or the retail price) or through an online site like Etsy. If your local library or book store has magazines, try doing some research in American Craft magazine.
Reedusstalker

Unread post

I'd like to try making my own jewelry.
Lotus
Donated
Donated
Regent
Regent

Unread post

I use to refinish and re-purpose furniture.

In the 90's I did farmers markets, juried art events, and I leased floor space in a couple stores. I have not done those in since 2005. Its work. The last 13 years were largely online. The possibilities are endless now.
Lotus
Donated
Donated
Regent
Regent

Unread post

Reedusstalker wrote: Wed Jul 25, 2018 10:01 am I'd like to try making my own jewelry.