Help me think through this

Anonymous 1

Unread post

For the sake of this conversation, I am a certified and licensed professional in my field. I am salaried plus I make commission.

When I started at this company, I was hired for a specific position. Occasionally, I will have a day or two when I do not have any work to do or when I am waiting on things from other people before I can finish my work and it may take a few days for them to get back to me. Some days, I stay at the office and clean out the supply closet or find other things to do without being asked. Other days, I will be told to go home early and they will call me if they need me.

Now they are wanting me to start helping other people complete their work on the days I don't have a lot to do. These are positions which are very different from what I do and I don't have any training in their fields of expertise. They would have to train me.

My employment agreement does not cover this.

I feel like they are adding to my responsibilities and if they want me to be responsible for more areas of the company, they need to give me a raise as well as cover any further training I may need. Even when I worked in a grocery store, if I were cashiering and they wanted me to stock, they would have given me a raise and trained me on how to stock.

What do you think?
carterscutie85
Princess
Princess

Unread post

Yeah I'd be demanding a raise.
EarlGrayHot
Regent
Regent

Unread post

It's typical in this day and age. You do your work and then do the work others should be doing. Modern management cannot bear to have someone sitting when they could be doing other people's work.
MonarchMom
Princess Royal
Princess Royal

Unread post

If it was a field that I wanted to stay in, or move up the ladder, then I would want to get the training and experience of more positions.